How are Workers’ Compensation Benefits Calculated in South Carolina?

Get the Help You Need Now
Contact Schiller & Hamilton Law Firm
Free Consultation
★★★★★ Google 300+ Google Reviews

In South Carolina, if you are unable to return to your regular job while you’re recovering from a workplace injury, you are entitled to temporary disability benefits to cover a portion of your lost wages.

Temporary Total Disability Benefits

If you are completely unable to return to work due to your injury you will receive Temporary Total Disability Benefits, or TTD. These are calculated by determining two-thirds of your average weekly wage before the injury. There is a maximum amount you can receive, which will be discussed later in this blog. However, the minimum amount you can receive is $75 per week.

These benefits will continue until you have been released by your doctor to return to work. At which point the Doctor will say that you have reached maximum medical improvement, or MMI.

Temporary Partial Disability Benefits

If you can return to work after your injury but are unable to earn as much as you did before the injury you are entitled to Temporary Partial Disability Benefits, or TPD. This is common if your doctor has placed you on work restrictions that limit the amount of hours you can work or limits the type of work you are able to engage in.

TPD benefits are calculated as two-thirds of the difference between your wages before the injury compared with what you are able to earn while recovering from your work-related injury. Again, these benefits will continue until you have been placed at MMI by your Doctor.

South Carolina’s Maximum Compensation Rate

For injuries occurring in the year 2021, the maximum amount of weekly benefits you are entitled to is $903.40. This is an increase of $36.74 from the year 2020. The South Carolina Worker’s Compensation Commission calculates this amount by looking at the average of all South Carolina wages from the years before.

You are also entitled to mileage reimbursement for travel to and from your medical treatment. The 2021 mileage reimbursement rate is set at $0.56.

Call An Attorney For Legal Help

Being injured on the job can become a very stressful time for you and your family. If you or a family member has been injured on the job it is important you contact an experienced attorney to ensure you’re receiving the correct amount of benefits you are entitled to under South Carolina Law.

At Schiller & Hamilton, we have been handling Workers’ Compensation Claims for nearly 30 years. Please contact us for a no-cost consolation to ensure that you and your family are protected.

Schiller & Hamilton Law Firm

We’ve Got Your Back
Call Us for a Free Case Evaluation

"*" indicates required fields

This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.